Group statistics

Hi - I'm just getting started with Altimetric, so far it is great.

I have an institutional login with the University of Reading.

Is it possible to select several authors and see their combined stats? This would be really useful to look at e.g. research group output

Hi Claire!

Thanks for getting in touch. Unfortunately, right now it isn't possible to select several authors to see their combined stats in the Explorer. However, within the next 6-8 months, we plan to develop a way to search for a selection of many authors (and other fields also) at the same time.

I can let you know as soon as something is available that will help you to search for multiple authors at once. In the meantime, you can use a bit of a long-winded solution instead: export a CSV list for each author and copy all the associated scholarly identifiers. Then, paste the identifiers into a new Custom Group. This way you can see all the data in a single group when you browse the Summary Chart.

Do let us know if you have any other questions!

Best wishes,

Jean Liu (Product Development Manager, Altmetric)

Hi - that would be great if you could let me know, thank you. In the mean time I will try your work around.

If you are interested in input for the feature design - one reason that researchers might be interested in the group author feature is to select publications relevant to a particular research project - This would give them a potentially very powerful reporting tool back to the funding body, and demonstrate the all important impact in a clear, graphical way. so - it wouldn't be the whole output of every author, just specific publications related to the project group. 

I realise, this is quite a complicated feature. I'm asking because you've already built a lovely tool here and it is easy to see lots of possibilities!

Thank you so much, Claire! This is great feedback. I just emailed you to follow up with a bit more information.

Speak soon,